Ocean Grove Bowling Club took out two awards at the CCV 2024 Awards. Credit: Mark Avellino Photography

The winners of the Community Clubs Victoria 2024 Awards were announced on Saturday 6 July during the gala dinner held at the prestigious RACV City Club in Melbourne.

The annual awards recognise the high-performing individuals and clubs whose efforts contribute to the social and economic wellbeing of their local Victorian communities. There are a total of 18 award categories including Club Person of the Year, Best Community Club Refurbishment, Club Manager of the Year, Social Impact Award, Regional Best Club Bistro/Restaurant, Metro Best Club Bistro/Restaurant, and Sport and Entertainment Award.

Club Manager of the Year Award went to Gavin Comport (R) from Altona Sports Club. Credit: Mark Avellino Photography

CCV chief executive Andrew Lloyd said the night was a chance to celebrate the grassroot contributions Victoria’s community clubs make to their local communities.

“Clubs are often the quiet achievers whose contributions are not publicised,” he said.

“Clubs have been working hard to ensure members and visitors can enjoy food and beverages at reasonable costs during a period of intense inflation and rising cost of living. Clubs can do this because they don’t have shareholders requiring supercharged dividends year-on-year. Clubs truly give back and provide quality and value.”

Walking away with two awards each were Ocean Grove Bowling Club, Altona Sports Club, Bendigo District RSL, Moe Racing Club, and Bendigo Stadium.

Here’s the full list of winners:

Best Sustainability Initiative: Ocean Grove Bowling Club

Excellence in Innovation: Dandenong Club

Best Community Club Refurbishment: Altona Sports Club

Best Community Club Redevelopment: Morwell Bowling Club

Regional Mental & Social Wellbeing: Bendigo District RSL

Metro Mental & Social Wellbeing: Frankston RSL

Regional Best Club Bistro/Restaurant: Morwell Bowling Club

Metro Best Club Bistro/Restaurant: Club Kilsyth

Best Sport and Entertainment: Bendigo Stadium

Club Person of the Year: Jo Wouters, Moe Racing Club

Regional Community Club: Moe Racing Club

Metro Community Club: Chirnside Park Country Club

Club Manager of the Year: Gavin Comport, Altona Sports Club

Best Hospitality Team: Bendigo District RSL

Best Member Experience: Greyhounds Entertainment

Emerging Young Community Leader: Elle Boyd, Ocean Grove Bowling Club

Social Impact: Bendigo Stadium  

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *