RACV's Members Club is one of the wine list award winners.

With just one week to go before the deadline, club managers, club sommeliers and beverage directors are being encouraged to submit their entries to the Australian Wine List of the Year Awards. 

The 30-strong independent judging panel includes highly respected local and international Master Sommeliers, Masters of Wine, expert wine communicators, previous national Wine List Award winners and Sommeliers Australia representatives who assess all wine lists – big and small. Recent additions to the judging panel include Amelia Ball, long-term wine and drinks editor and journalist, and Kim Bickley, award-winning sommelier, wine judge and educator.

Lists are ranked from one to three glasses. The best of the best are then in contention to win the highly prized best in State / Territory, Type of Trade, Category Awards and, of course, Australia’s Wine List of the Year. 

For the Category Awards, entrants can submit their lists in a diverse range of categories such as Best Listing of Wines by the Glass, Best Food and Wine Matching, Best New, Best Small, also by beverage specialities and lists showcasing the wines from specific States / Territories or regions. 

The entry process is simple and takes less than 20 minutes – just fill in your club details and attach a PDF of your wine and beverage list, menu and an image.

Club winners last year included The Newcastle Club, for Best Listing of NSW Wines, and Best Club Restaurant Wine List going to Chu by China Doll at Wests HQ in Rooty Hill, NSW. Their sommelier, Christopher Entwistle, offered a total of 236 wines, 22 by the glass.

“The thought which has gone into the by-the-glass selection is immediately apparent and augurs well for what is to come,” the judges said. “Excellent array of quality wines, obviously curated with the food in mind, a lesson others could benefit from. This may not be the biggest list in the country but there are so many thrilling and appealing selections, anything more would be superfluous.”

Other finalists included the Members’ Dining Room, RACV Club Melbourne, Bridport Bunker Club in Tasmania, Chatham House, at the National Press Club in ACT, the Metropolitan Golf Club, Sandringham, Victoria, the Newcastle Club in NSW, and Sydney’s The Queen’s Club, Royal Sydney Yacht Squadron and La Tratt at Fairfield RSL, plus Royal Queensland Golf Club.

  • Entries for 2023 must be submitted via the online form here by 11:59 pm on Monday, 15 May.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *